

Easy Enrollment Advisory Committee January 20, 2021 3:00 PM - 4:30 PM

Committee Members Present: Jared Colturi, Jeanine Draut, Amber Egbert, Melanie Herrman, Debra Judy, Marivel Klueckman, Allison Neswood, Tanya Trujillo, and Monica VanBuskirk

Staff Present: Sara Chiasson, Beth Deines, Kelly Davies, Bailey Dvorak, Saphia Elfituri, Jaqueline Giordano, Emma Oppenheim, Ilana Rivera, Nina Schwartz, Katie Shannon, and Aron Snyder

I. Welcome & Introductions

- Monica VanBuskirk called the meeting to order at 3:03 p.m. and welcomed those in attendance.
- The minutes from the January 4, 2021 meeting were reviewed and approved.

II. Easy Enrollment Advisory Committee Report

The Committee reviewed a <u>presentation</u> regarding the Easy Enrollment Program.

Revisit the Proposed Implementation Approach

Staff presented the recommended approach for eligibility assessment and noticing:

- The Exchange sends notice to everyone who checks the box with clear call to action
- The Exchange will follow this process for existing (currently enrolled) customers who check the box
- Notice will include information for currently enrolled customers and direct customers to a new page on the Exchange website. The page will include a clear call to action for tax filers to enroll in coverage as well as information for currently enrolled customers.

The Committee reviewed the process flow for the recommended approach.

Additional Committee Input:

- Include language in the notice and the landing page that direct individuals to health coverage guides and brokers if they need assistance to determine eligibility
- Utilize real time electronic noticing in the future phases
- Connect individuals who are not tech savvy to health coverage guides and brokers
- Potential outreach to those who don't respond

Additional Information:

- Maryland Easy Enrollment focus group report
- Summary of Maryland's Easy Enrollment focus groups and implications for Colorado

Amber Egbert motioned to recommend approval to adopt the high-level process flow as a baseline with opportunity for additional elements to be determined in the future. Marivel Klueckman seconded the motion.

Monica VanBuskirk called for public comment.

Public comment given by Shoshi Preuss, Covering Kids and Families. Public comment given by Daniela Gosselova, Broker.

Monica VanBuskirk called for the motion to vote. The recommendation was approved as follows:

Yes: Jared Colturi, Jeanine Draut, Amber Egbert, Melanie Herrman, Debra Judy, Marivel Klueckman, Allison Neswood, Tanya Trujillo, and Monica VanBuskirk

No: None Abstain: None

Monica VanBuskirk motioned to go with implementation where tax filer has within calendar year to apply, but 60-day special enrollment period (SEP) starts when they are notified of their eligibility to enroll.

Further discussion and decision making on the SEP will continue at the February Committee Meeting.

III. Public Comment

Public comment given by Daniela Gosselova, Broker.

Respectfully submitted,

Monica VanBuskirk Committee Co-Chair

Amber Egbert Committee Co-Chair